HOA Reform Coalition – Texas Legislature

Dear Texas Homeowners:

Our work has begun.  The homeowners of Texas must now respond to all bill activity as best as each can.  Those who live in or near Austin and can go to the Capitol for hearings, please go to as many as you can. A citizen may testify for or against or one has the option to merely select that choice on the forms found in the back of the Hearing Rooms. Even though not testifying, those positions for or against are tallied and announced. Your presence is most important.

Those a distance from Austin can be very effective by contacting the Committee members and stating their positions on the bill, as well as contacting their own senators and representatives. There is just a very short time to make your voice heard.  Let them know homeowners demand their rights. They did not surrender them when they bought their homes.

Below is contact information important for you to let the Committees and your own state senator and representative know of your position on POA/HOA bills in this 85th Legislative Session. Go to the Texas Legislature Online (TLOL)     http://www.legis.state.tx.us/ and under House and Senate, click “Members”. Then go to the member’s home site.  There will be an email contact option.

Keep this information handy, so that when we share with you information we have just received concerning the progress of bills, you can advise the members of the legislature your preference as their constituent.

There are two Senate Committees listed.  When we communicate with you about a Senate Bill, we will let you know which Senate Committee to contact.

Do be sure to list your own senator and representative so they will be contacted as well.

House Committee on Business & Industry (C040) Clerk: Angelina Lopez
Legislature: 85(R) – 2017 Phone: (512) 463-0766
Appointment Date: 1/10/2017 Room: EXT E2.128
Position Member
Chair: Rep. Rene Oliveira
Vice Chair: Rep. Hugh Shine
Members: Rep. Nicole Collier
Rep. Ramon Romero
Rep. Jonathan Stickland
Rep. Jason Villalba
Rep. Paul Workman
Senate Committee on Business & Commerce (C510) Clerk: Tatum Reagan
Legislature: 85(R) – 2017 Phone: (512) 463-0365
Appointment Date: 1/10/2017 Room: SHB 370
Position Member
Chair: Sen. Kelly Hancock
Vice Chair: Sen. Brandon Creighton
Members: Sen. Donna Campbell
Sen. Craig Estes
Sen. Robert Nichols
Sen. Charles Schwertner
Sen. Larry Taylor
Sen. John Whitmire
Sen. Judith Zaffirini
Senate Committee on Intergovernmental Relations (C520) Clerk: Dilip Kanuga
Legislature: 85(R) – 2017 Phone: (512) 463-2527
Appointment Date: 1/10/2017 Room: SHB 475
Position Member
Chair: Sen. Eddie Lucio, Jr.
Vice Chair: Sen. Paul Bettencourt
Members: Sen. Donna Campbell
Sen. Sylvia Garcia
Sen. Don Huffines
Sen. Jose Menendez
Sen. Van Taylor
Thanks for all that you do.
HOA Reform Coalition of Texas Website:
Thank you for all that you do!
Beanie Adolph – Director
Nancy Kozanecki – Assistant Director
Join Our Mailing List
This entry was posted in Action Steps, HOA POA Law and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.